Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Saudi Suspends Entry From 20 Countries Including India Over COVID Fears

In the wake of rising cases of Coronavirus, Saudi Arabia on Tuesday banned entry to the Kingdom from 20 countries, with the exception of diplomats, medical practitioners and their families.

The temporary ban, effective from February 3, includes people arriving from the United Arab Emirates, Germany, the United States, Britain, Sweden, Brazil, Argentina, South Africa, France, Egypt, Lebanon, India and Pakistan, according to Arab News.

The ban also applies to travellers who transited through any of the 20 countries in the 14 days before a planned visit to the Kingdom.

“We have unfortunately in recent days registered a noticeable increase and continued rise in infections. One of the main reasons is gatherings and complacency with precautionary measures,” said Health Minister Tawfiq al-Rabiah.

Saudi Arabia recorded 270 new infections on Saturday, 105 of them in the capital, Riyadh. The Kingdom has recorded more than 367,800 cases and 6,370 deaths so far.

Written By

Rushda Fathima Khan is the Staff Reporter for The Cognate.

You May Also Like


Asserting demands to resume offline classes and hostel facilities, students of Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) on Monday have staged a protest seeking the intervention...


Bebaak Collective, an association of activists advocating the rights of Muslim women and the community, released a fact-finding report documenting the criminalisation and harassment...


KM Shareef, the former Chairman of Popular Front of India (PFI) passed away Tuesday due to complications from COVID-19 in a hospital in Mangalore,...


Saudi Arabia deported a large number of non-resident Indians (NRIs) living in the country for protesting against the contentious Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) enacted...